Tiruvarur District

Tiruvarur district (Tamil : திருவாரூர் மாவட்டம்) (Composite Tanjore Dist) is one of the 32 districts in the Tamil Nadu state of India. The district occupies an area of 2,161 km². It lies between Nagapattinam district on the east and Thanjavur District on the west, and is bounded by the Palk Strait on the south. The district headquarters is at Tiruvarur town. As of 2011, the district had a population of 12,64,277 with a sex-ratio of 1,017 females for every 1,000 males.

Tiruvarur District Demographics

According to 2011 census, Thiruvarur district had a population of 12,64,277 with a sex-ratio of 1,017 females for every 1,000 males, much above the national average of 929. A total of 1,21,973 were under the age of six, constituting 62,280 males and 59,693 females. Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes accounted for 34.08% and .24% of the population respectively. The average literacy of the district was 74.86%, compared to the national average of 72.99%. The district had a total of 3,27,219 households. There were a total of 5,40,168 workers, comprising 60,508 cultivators, 2,00,126 main agricultural labourers, 7,264 in house hold industries, 1,44,527 other workers, 1,27,743 marginal workers, 9,375 marginal cultivators, 95,062 marginal agricultural labourers, 3,176 marginal workers in household industries and 20,130 other marginal workers.

Tiruvarur District History

The Tiruvarur district, along with the Nagapattinam district was part of the Thanjavur District before 1991. After that, the present Taluks of Thiruvarur district and Nagapattinam district were separated from the Thanjavur District, and formed the Nagapattinam district. The present Tiruvarur district was formed in 1997 by trifurcating the then Thanjavur District.

Major towns are

  • Thiruvarur
  • Thiruthuraipoondi
  • Nachikulam
  • Muthupettai
  • Mannargudi

Tiruvarur District Administration

2 Revenue Divisions

  • Mannargudi Division
  • Tiruvarur Division

Seven Taluks:

  • Kudavasal Taluk
  • Mannargudi Taluk
  • Nannilam Taluk
  • Needamangalam Taluk
  • Thiruthuraipoondi Taluk
  • Thiruvarur Taluk
  • Valangaiman Taluk

Tiruvarur District Rivers

  • Arasalar River
  • Noolaar River
  • Odampokki River
  • Vettar River
  • Vennar River
  • Mudikondan River
  • Nandalar River
  • Nattar River
  • Thirumalairajan River
  • Koraiyar River
  • Valavaikkal River
  • Kaattar River
  • Pandavaiar River
  • Arichandranathi River
  • Mullaiyar River
  • Pamaniyar River

Tiruvarur District Places of Interest

  • Alangudi Siva Temple
  • Engan Murugan Temple
  • Koothanur
  • Aadhi Vinayagar Temple, Sethalapathy / Thiladharpanapoori
  • Kothandarama Temple, Thillaivilagam
  • Muthupet Dargah
  • Muthupet Lagoon
  • Rajagopalaswamy Temple, Mannargudi
  • Soundareswararswamy Temple, Thiruppanaiyur
  • Srinivasa Perumal Temple, Kudavasal
  • Thyagaraja Temple, Tiruvarur
  • Tirucherai Saranathan Temple
  • Tirucherai Sivasthalam
  • Vaduvoor Bird Sanctuary